1979 HERITAGE AWARD RECIPIENT
The Redlands Area Historical Society, Inc.
Heritage Award 1979
Charles E. Gill Home
1580 Elizabeth Street
The hilltop at 1580 Elizabeth Street was the site of Charles E. Gill’s home built in 1900. Mr. Gill, a retired bookbinder from the East, lived in the house until his death in 1926.
The interior of the three-story, 5,500 square foot house is ornamented with beautiful redwood woodwork. Other features in the house include two fireplaces, a built-in china cabinet with leaded glass windows, and a charming pedestal sink in the upstairs bathroom.
The present owners, Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd A. Larson, purchased the residence in 1968 and saved it from possible destruction. At that time the house still had the original sixty-eight year old shingles on the roof; the carriage house had collapsed; all fifty window screens were torn, hanging or missing; the drainpipes were broken, fallen or hangin; and the house had not been painted in thirty-five years.
Though the Larson’ hard work, the house, once again, is a handsome example of early Redlands’ architecture.