1983 HERITAGE AWARD RECIPIENT
The Redlands Area Historical Society, Inc.
Heritage Award 1983
E.W. Wilmot Residence
134 Summit Avenue
This two story house has a large porch that extends across the front and down the east side. Turned columns support this porch and the second floor gabled balcony. A decorative spindle and ball porch valance crosses the eave line of the porch and is again echoed on the balcony. Both have unique railings and newel posts. The roof has cross gables with stick and spindle decoration. Finials top the gables. The roof line also includes a tower-like dormer. The exterior siding of the first floor is wide wood boards and the second floor has square shingles in a decorative pattern. There are many windows featured throughout with few that are alike.
In the 1880’s, Redlands pioneer Frank Brown persuaded his uncle, E.W. Wilmot to move to Redlands. Mr. Wilmot left Connecticut and with his wife and family moved west. Upon arriving in Redlands, Mr. Wilmot joined Judson and Brown as a partner in the Alessandro Land Development Company. The Wilmot sons established on the Redlands’ early livery stables.
Mr. Wilmot hired architect A.L. Haley to design a family home. In 1880 builder H.C. Mallone began work on the house that is located at 134 Summit. Upon the death of her parents, the Wilmots’ daughter, Mrs. Burns, became the property owner and her family resided in the house until 1940. At that time the house became a rental and went into a decline. It was sold in the 1960’s and the adjoining orange groves were sold for development.
The house continued to deteriorate until purchased by Mr. and Mrs. Wesley Gebb and their family in 1975. The Gebbs recognized its lost beauty and future potential and upon purchasing the home, they began eight years of hard work and devotion to its restoration.