Margaret Carmichael Home


The Redlands Area Historical Society, Inc.
Heritage Award 1982

Margaret Carmichael House
144 Parkwood Drive
Circa 1900

This house belonging to Dr. Robert Fisher and Evelyn Fisher was built circa 1900 in what was referred to as Smiley Addition Tract. Built in the lovely setting just north of the Olive Avenue entrance to Smiley Park, it is a Neo-classic Eastern row house.

Margaret Carmichael, a widow and Christian Science Practitioner, and her family lived in the house for fifteen years. In 1918, John and Elizabeth Chambers bought the house. He had come to Redlands from Ireland in the early 1890’s. After their death the house was sold to the O.O. Volkerts. Later occupants were the Keyes and Albert Hills families.

Dr. Robert Fisher, an art historian, and Evelyn Fisher, an interior designer, present owners of the house have used their talents to decorate and restore this house, so that it is truly one of the gems of historic Redlands. Not only have they beautified the house itself but they have artfully landscaped the grounds. Their garden was recently featured on the garden tour of the Redlands Horticultural Society.
The interior of the house is also attractive being divided by a long central hallway and having five spacious rooms and a bath.

The house continues to be a very liveable, comfortable, well-kept home in character with the Victorian flavor that represents early Redlands, and lends charm to Redlands today.

The Redlands Area Historical Society does itself honor in singling out this unique example of our town’s heritage and in commending the stewardship of the owners.