The Roy Langford Home – 2023


The Redlands Area Historical Society, Inc.

The Roy Langford Home

806 Cajon Street


The home located at 806 Cajon Street, this residence is known as the Langford Home. It is situated on the South West corner of Palm Avenue and Cajon St. It was built for the rancher, Roy Langford, in 1927 by the renowned Redlands contractor Garrett Huizing. This property stands as a Spanish Cottage, showcasing the architectural beauty that contributes to the character of the neighborhood. The home was built in 1927 at a cost of $7,000 and in 1937 Roy Langford added an additional bedroom for $1,000. 

 The home was built with the stucco and red tiled roof with some influences to the Smiley Library in the arches and the Roman Arched windows. Positioned on a corner lot, its complex roof lines are on full display. The red-clay-tile roofs, adorned with vertical vents and horizontal slats at the end of each gable, which create a silhouette. The walls, covered in hand-troweled stucco, add to the Spanish appearance. One notable feature is the shed roof that extends from the east end (left side), forming an enclosed arcade of contiguous arches with three entries and a small arched opening high on the end wall. The shed roof culminates in a perpendicular parapet wall with a mission pattern at the top, including a small arch for a bell.

 A wrought-iron gate and arch lead you into the small courtyard, formed by a short stucco wall extending from the corner of the arcade to the end of the parapet wall. Another wall, adorned with mission detailing, connects the two shorter gables, enclosing a courtyard. Roy Langford entrusted Garrett Huizing to bring his vision to life, and the result is a home that has stood the test of time.

 Garrett Huizing moved to California when he was 25 years old after contracting tuberculous and following medical advice of moving from New Jersey in hopes of recovering from the disease.  He was very active in building houses in Redlands and surrounding areas as a local builder for 35 years. His first job in town was rebuilding the barn at the home on 452 West Palm Avenue for M.M. Phinney. “He became an official building contractor in 1908 and purchased an orange grove on Eureka Street in 1909. He was greatly influenced by the California Bungalow Craftsman architectural style. By 1924, Huizing had constructed 157 homes in Redlands.”

 Out of 41 lots on South Buena Vista Street he built 31 of them including the famous 637 South Buena Vista, the King Tut House. Over the years he was influenced by a Los Angeles architect, Henri Hicks, who owned The Egyptian Construction Company and started to build Pompeian, Italian, Spanish, Babylonia, and Egyptian style homes, many with a special mixture of concrete and crushed granite for plaster on the sides of homes.

 The Langford Home has since been fully renovated with a modern twist, combining the best of vintage charm and contemporary convenience. There is a formal living room with arched coat closets and a gas-burning fireplace.

 During the renovations and restoration over the years the following have been addressed: the hardwood floors, exterior and interior paint, bathrooms, fixtures, plumbing upgrades, and landscaping. The exposed wood beams and barrel-vaulted ceiling in the open-concept family room and kitchen, while the separate dining room and living room which feature high domed ceilings and large natural wood custom arched picture windows allowing natural sunlight into the home. Throughout the home, you’ll find original hardwood and tiled floors, preserving the character of this Spanish gem. There is a rear courtyard with manicured landscaping and trees.

 The Langford Home at 806 Cajon Street stands as a testament to Redland’s history and architectural heritage. Bryan and Heather Griggs became the proud owners of this home in 2019, and consider it their dream home. They are committed to cherishing and preserving its rich history.

The Redlands Area Historical Society acknowledges and expresses gratitude to the Griggs family for their unwavering dedication for this property on the corner of Cajon and Palm Ave.

Research by Thomas Jackson

Presented 12 June 2023