Ewing P. Newton Home


The Redlands Area Historical Society, Inc.
Heritage Award 1990

Ewing P. Newton Home
243 Buena Vista Street

The one story house at 243 Buena Vista Street is a simple example of Queen Anne styling having a hipped roof with a low cross gable extending over a three windowed bay. The upper lite of the large window in the bay is leaded and beveled glass. To the left of the bay is a covered porch supported by simple columns set on pedestals. The balustrades and railings of the porch are straight and plain. The house, covered in narrow clapboard siding, sits on a raised cut stone foundation. On the north side of the house there is a square bay with three double hung windows.

The first owners of the house were Ewing and Katie Newton, moving there from 408 East State Street. Mr. Ewing was employed by Brookings Lumber and Box Company and listed as manager of the company in 1911. Several other owners followed: A. E. Madison in 1919, Mrs. S. W. Settle in 1921, and Mr. J. R. Monahan also in 1921. In 1929 the house was bought by the S. J. Miller family. Mrs. Olga Miller lived in the house until 1965.

There have been several owners of the house since that time. Dr. Michael Buck owned the house in the mid eighties and during that time painted both the interior and exterior. He sold the house to Linda and Richard Sloop in November of 1988. The Sloop’s have worked diligently on the yard.

We commend their effort at maintaining this charming example of Redlands history.